October 26, 2013

  • Glenfiddich

    I drink whiskey whenever the detective drinks. When the grizzled TV detective sits down and says, "have a drink, Jack," I know he wants me to drink whiskey. My name is not Jack, but I know he means me. I know it has to be whiskey, it has to be now, and it has to be, yeah, single malt scotch.
    Glass-of

    To tell the truth, I do not keep single malt scotch whiskey on hand. Who does? It's expensive, and in the worst case, what if I like it? What if I blow through all my savings on rare whiskey and, say, coke and coke whores? It would be shameful. Nevertheless I finally overcame these irrational fears and bought the Glenfiddich.

    And how is it? Mild, extremely soft and mild. There is the light hint of highland peat in its aroma and none of the hard bite of commercial whiskey. I could get used to it easily. It is redolent of a delicate apricot liqueur.

    And yet it's too . . . gay. That's right, gay. I could never really be satisfied by a liquor that doesn't punch me in the mouth. Yep, it's back to the usual paint thinner scented booze for me.

Comments (16)

  • Lol. In that case, I might like this one.

  • I yearn to blow it on vintage perfume with a small allowance for fine alcoholic beverages.

  • Yes, that would be shameful to blow your $$ on rare whiskey! ;-) :-D
    I will blow my savings on something else! I won't say what that is at this time.
    :-D
    HUGS!!! :-)

  • Every year it seems, during Passover when beer is verboten and I run out of what should have lasted seven days, I do my test-drives of alternatives: Ouzo, Arak, Absolut. get sick of each of them before the bottle is empty.
    My son has, though, taken to distilling, and double-distilling, just about any sugar-source I give him (strawberries, rotten oranges. It all comes out in the wash, so to speak.
    personally, I could live with only Irish Creme. but here, Bailey's is $50 a bottle, and the off-brands are , likely, a rough mix of rubbing alcohol, antifreeze, and Nestle's Quik.
    The search goes on.
    (I do feel like a rough beast not knowing more about famous brews, but so be it.

  • That is why I drink cheap gin. It punches you in the mouth all right and the gut as well. Nope. there is no getting hooked on cheap gin.

  • I would like to have a drink with a detective, too. Especially if that detective is Tom Selleck in one of the Jessie Stone TV movies. He drinks a lot. At least he doesn't smoke.
    When I drank I never liked straight liquor, but I didn't drink froofroo drinks, either. I think a guy should lose his man card if he drinks something alcoholic that is blue and slushy. Just sayin'...

    • Haha I read that there's only one blue liquor, curacao, and it tastes pretty bad.

      Tom Selleck is back now in a CBS series Bluebloods, where he still knocks back a few. But I miss the old Law & Order with Sam Waterston as Jack McCoy. He always drank single malt.

  • I have an unopened bottle of J&B scotch. My dad bought it the day I was born so it is pretty old.

  • I want some of that feminine liquor.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment