July 4, 2015

  • The linguists are flummoxed

    didnt-6

    What is the correct pronunciation of "didn't?"  It turns out a correct pronunciation does not exist.  But even if it did, it would surely evolve into something else a week from now.  And there will be regional differences, as well as those based on ethnicity and class.  How does a Valley Girl say it?  How will a Valley Girl say it?

    Which of the following is correct?

    didnt-3 didnt-a
    didnt-c diidnt-7
    didnt-22b didnt-b

    I found these illustrations in google.  There are many more possibilities.  I've heard young people say DI-nawt.  In New York you might hear Di-ont.  How do you say it?

    This discussion is from Englishforums.com ( LINK )

      I recently noticed marked differences in pronunciation of '"didn't". Monica Goodling says a clear "diddint", and a friend (originally from Utah) says "dint". When I tried to write how I say it (the only correct way , of course!) I realized couldn't see how to phonetically. When I say it, the second 'd' closes the airstream and there is a kind of sounded, plosive gutteral that goes through the nose. How do you say it? How would you transcribe it phonetically? - Richard Yates

      /'dId nt/ or /'dId Emotion: catnt/ No more nasality than is usual with the n, which is, after all, classed as a nasal.
      I've been noticing a different pronunciation lately, heard mostly on TV, mostly from younger interviewees and actors, mostly female. /'dI d@t/ - Cece

      How would you describe your way of saying the first "d"? Some people say "diddent" or "diddunt" and some say that "dd" in a very pronounced manner. Others say "dittent" (unsounded plosive) and even others say the word with a "glottal stop" (di'nt). Most times, I think, I say "dint" with the same sounds as the "dint" (by dint of great effort). - Pat Durkin

    Here is an entry in the Urban Dictionary, September 26, 2007, by TopSecret.  The Urban Dictionary is usually a good source for current language usage, but note that this entry is eight years old.

      (Pronounced: o no you dit-ten) A colloquial expression of incredulity, voiced upon witnessing another's action or statement, or hearing of it from the actor firsthand.
      "Step off, bitch," said Tyrone. "Oh no you dit-ten!" exclaimed Shanna.

    Finally, MELANIE-the-American-English-Teacher notes that the "t" in "nt" may often be silent in rapid colloquial speech ( LINK )  "I don't understand" may legitimately be pronounced "I don unnerstan"

    Thus "didn't" becomes "din."

    How do you say "didn't"?

Comments (4)

  • Fun, funny post!
    Words and pronunciations of words is always interesting...I guess some depend on how your family (parents) said them...or what part of the country or world you were raised in, etc. :-)

    I don't use the word "didn't". I'm always confessing, "Yep! I did it!" :-D
    HUGS!!! :-P

  • I'm not sure I would take English lessons from someone who says, "Here is some examples". Who woudda thought someone would want to emulate an American accent?

    • I had formal instuction in British English while attending middle school in Heidelberg, Germany. I was taught to say, "it's not cricket, old boy. You're not playing the game!" In answer to your question, all of my classmates would need to UNLEARN this pompous quacking and learn to sound American.

      BTW are you sure you dint mean to write "who wudda thunk?"

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment