June 28, 2015

  • Minestrone loves you

    ... homemade minestrone in particular.  It tastes mad nutritious from the first bite.  And why is that?  There is no meat in it.  It's entirely vegetarian.

    You see, I get seasonal local vegetables delivered by a co-op to my front door every week.  (You might want to check whether doortodoororganics.com is in your area. If it isn't, there will be an equivalent organization.)  So I noticed I had some onion, carrots, zucchini, bell pepper, potato, celery, parsely, red cabbage, garlic, tomatoes, and scallions.  Now add broth, olive oil, butter, bay leaf, tomato sauce, garbanzos, pepper, and herbs, and -- there is a mystery chemical reaction when you dice and slow cook everything that gives you the feeling of having eaten a full steak dinner.

    minestrone-0
     

    Peace out.

Comments (8)

  • What spices did you add? I have a plethora of onions, zucchini, tomatoes, and potatoes from my garden and I'm happy to have an idea of how to use them.

    • These lovely vegetables have a chemistry, I am saying, that does not need much enhancement.  I don't know how they do it.  But six hours in the slow cooker somehow amps up their taste.

      Pepper definitely.  Garlic, herbes de provence.  Omit the plethora, substitute 1/4 tsp of myriad.

  • I didn't have any tomato sauce so I used Trader Joe's Rustico Pasta sauce and a few of my luscious home-grown tomatoes. I haven't the patience for the slow cooker so it's simmering on the stove as I type. The house smells fabulous! It's a bit odd to be serving hot soup on a hot summer evening; but that's why God made air conditioners, I reckon.

    • Girl.  You don't just cook it for an hour you know.  It is a classic dish from Roman times.  Be sure to use beans of some kind, kidney, garbanzo, lima, etc.  Also, some people like to add red wine.

  • Sounds good. I'm going to try this recipe one of these days :)

  • And I love minestrone!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Good meal using the summer garden veggies!
    HUGS!!! :-)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment